<

KURUKSHETRA UNIVERSITY KURUKSHETRA
(Established by the State Legislature Act XII of 1956)
(‘A+1 Grade, NAAC Accredited)

List of Public Holidays to be observed by the Non-Teaching Staff of the University Teaching Departments, all recognized and Maintained Colleges/Institutes & University Offices during the Calendar year 2018.

S. No. Name of the Holiday Date on which falls Day of the week No.
1 All Sundays 52
2 All Saturdays 52
3 Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday January 05 Friday 01
4 Basant Panchami/ Sir ChhotuRam Jayanti January 22 Monday 01
5 Republic Day January 26 Friday 01
6 Guru Ravi Dass’s Birthday January 31 Wednesday 01
7 Maha Shivratri February 14 Wednesday 01
8 Holi March 02 Friday 01
9 Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev March 23 Friday 01
10 Mahavir Jayanti March 29 Thrusday 01
11 Lord Parshu Ram Jayanti April 18 Wednesday 01
12 Sant Kabir Jayanti June 28 Thursday 01
13 Shaheed Udham Singh’s
Martyrdom Day
July 31 Tuesday 01
14 Independence Day August 15 Wednesday 01
15 Id-UI-Zuha (Bakrid) August 22 Wednesday 01
16 Janamashtami September 03 Monday 01
17 Mahatama Gandhi Jayanti October 02 Tuesday 01
18 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti October 10 Wednesday 01
19 Dussehra October 18 Thursday 01
20 Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday October 24 Wednesday 01
21 Haryana Day November 01 Thrusday 01
22 Diwali November 07 Wednesday 01
23 Vishavkarma Day November 09 Friday 01
24 Guru Nanak’s Dev Birthday November 23 Friday 01
25 Christmas Day November 25 Tuesday 01

Note: The following festivals and occasions which fall on non-working days have been excluded from the list of Public Days:

S. No. Name of the Holiday Date on which falls Day of the week No.
1 Ram Navmi March 25 Sunday 01
2 Dr.B.R.Ambedkar’s Jayanti April 14 Saturday 01
3 Id-Ul-Fitr June 16 Saturday 01
4 Maharana Pratap Jayanti June 16 Saturday 01
5 Raksha Bandhan September 23 Sunday 01
6 Haryana Heroes’ Martyrdom Day August 26 Sunday 01

Note: Besides the above holidays employees may be allowed any three holidays to be chosen out of the Restricted Holidays mentioned below:

S. No. Name of the Holiday Date on which falls Day of the week No.
1 Maharishi DayaNand Saraswati Jayanti (with State Celebration) February 10 Saturday 01
2 Budh Purnima April 30 Monday 01
3 Budh Purnima April 30 Monday 01
4 Guru Arjan Dev’s Martyrdom Day June 16 Saturday 01
5 Hariyali Teej August 13 Monday 01
6 Muharram September 21 Friday 01
7 Karva Chauth October 27 Saturday 01
8 Goverdhan puja November 08 Thrusday 01
9 Chhath puja November 13 Tuesday 01
10 Milad-Un-Nabi or Id-E-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) November 21 Wednesday 01
11 11. Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day November 24 Saturday 01
12 Shaheed Udham Singh’s Birth Day December 26 Wednesday 01

Note: (a) All Sundays will be non-working days
(b) All Saturdays will be non-working days for non-teaching employees working in various University Teaching Departments/offices and essential services as per guidelines issued vide this office notification No. G-6/94/12070-12269 dated 21.9.1994 and G-6/ 94/14364-14563 dated 7.11.1994.
(c) Administrative staff working in all the recognized Colleges of the
University will be given a compensatory off day during the month in lieu of second Saturday.

REGISTRAR